

Electoral Review Committee

MINUTES OF THE ELECTORAL REVIEW COMMITTEE MEETING HELD ON 24 MARCH 2020 AT COUNCIL CHAMBER - COUNTY HALL, BYTHESEA ROAD, TROWBRIDGE, BA14 8JN.

Present:

Cllr Richard Clewer (Chairman), Cllr Ian McLennan, Cllr Christopher Newbury and Cllr Ashley O'Neill

9 Apologies

Apologies from the meeting were received from Councillors Ian Blair-Pilling, Clare Cape, Gavin Grant, Jonathon Seed, Stuart Wheeler and Graham Wright.

Councillors Blair-Pilling, Seed, Wheeler and Wright contributed to the meeting through a Skype call, but did not take part in any vote.

10 Minutes of the Previous Meeting

The minutes of the meeting held on 30 January 2020 were presented for consideration and it was,

Resolved:

To approve and sign the minutes as a true and correct record.

11 <u>Declarations of Interest</u>

There were no declarations.

12 **Chairman's Announcements**

There were no announcements.

13 **Public Participation**

There were no questions or statements submitted.

14 Community Governance Review 2019/20

The Committee received a report on information received during the initial stages of the Community Governance Review, including details of responses to an online and physical survey sent to residents in areas which might potentially

be transferred to another parish, and details of electorate projections, parish council views and notes from public meetings.

The Chairman explained that given the extensive pre-consultation that had taken place, that the length and methods of consultation required for draft consultation was not set out in law or guidance, and that to delay determination of some areas could result in some areas having arrangements in place for the next parish elections in 2021 which were not providing effective governance or reflective of community identity or interests, it was considered acceptable to continue progression of the review during the Covid-19 situation. It was also agreed during the meeting that the Committee would write to those who had received a letter during the initial phases of the review to further canvass opinion during the ongoing situation. Other details of the consultation including it was hoped public meetings would be flexible as a result of the ongoing situation.

The Committee then discussed the areas under review and the various proposals which had been received along with public and parish views on those proposals. The Committee debated each area and agreed draft recommendations to be consulted upon, along with reasons for each recommendation.

Given the developing Covid-19 situation, the Committee delegated approval of the final documentation and arrangements to the Director for Legal, Electoral and Registration Services. At the conclusion of debate, it was,

Resolved:

To delegate preparation and approval of a draft recommendation document to the Director for Legal, Electoral and Registration Services after consultation with the Chairman of the Committee.

In relation to the schemes as surveyed, the Committee resolved.

Scheme 1 – Netherhampton – recommended to be approved Scheme 2/42 - Langley Burrell Without 1 - recommended to be approved Scheme 3/43 – Langley Burrell Without 2 – recommended to be approved Scheme 4/44 - Lacock - recommended to be approved Scheme 5/9 – Melksham Without 1 – recommended to be approved Scheme 6/10 – Melksham Without 2 – recommended to be approved Scheme7 - North Bradley 1 - recommended to be approved Scheme 8 – North Bradley 2 – recommended to be approved Scheme 11 – Seend 1 – recommended to not be approved Scheme 13 – Trowbridge 1 – recommended to not be approved Scheme 14 – Trowbridge 2 – recommended to not be approved Scheme 15 – Trowbridge 3 – recommended to not be approved Scheme 16 - Trowbridge 4 - recommended to not be approved Scheme 17 - Trowbridge 5 - recommended to not be approved Scheme 24 - Melksham Merger (a, b, c and d) - recommended to not be approved

```
Scheme 29 – Calne Without – recommended to be approved
```

- Scheme 32 Pewsey recommended to be approved
- Scheme 34 Wilcot 1 recommended to be approved
- Scheme 35 Wilcot 2 recommended to be approved
- Scheme 37 Southwick recommended to not be approved

Scheme 40 – Derry Hill (New parish) – recommended to not be approved (but to be reviewed 2020/21/22 with surrounding parishes to ensure full consideration of potential options)

- Scheme 41 Chippenham 1 recommended to not be approved
- Scheme 51 West Ashton 1 recommended to not be approved
- Scheme 52 West Ashton 2 recommended to not be approved
- Scheme 74 Salisbury recommended to be approved
- Scheme 75 Chippenham Without recommended to be approved
- Scheme 76 Woodborough recommended to be approved
- Scheme 82 Yatton Keynell recommended to not be approved
- Scheme 83 Seend 2 recommended to not be approved

Along with additional details relating to each Scheme as appropriate.

15 **Date of the Next Meeting**

The next meeting was scheduled for June 2020, but would depend upon the developing Covid-19 situation.

16 **Urgent Items**

There were no urgent items.

(Duration of meeting: 4.00 - 5.00 pm)

The Officer who has produced these minutes is Kieran Elliott of Democratic Services, direct line 01225 718504, e-mail kieran.elliott@wiltshire.gov.uk

Press enquiries to Communications, direct line (01225) 713114/713115